Posts

LibraryReads list May 2017

Announcing the
May 2017
LibraryReads list!
You voted, we counted, and 
May's LibraryReads Favorite is: Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine A Novel
by Gail Honeyman
(Pamela Dorman Books)
“I loved this book about the quirky Eleanor, who struggles to relate to other people and lives a very solitary life. When she and the new work IT guy happen to be walking down the street together, they witness an elderly man collapse on the sidewalk and suddenly Eleanor's orderly routines are disrupted. This is a lovely novel about loneliness and how a little bit of kindness can change a person forever. Highly recommended for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project - this would make a great book club read.” -Halle Eisenman, Beaufort County Library, Blufton, SC

Stranger in the Woods: the extraordinary story of the last true hermit by Michael Finkel

Image
Now, I'm known as a relatively quiet person who relishes peace and quiet and time with my thoughts daily, but even I would crave human contact after a week or so. That is why I find this story so incredible, that a person would prefer to live totally without human contact, in the Maine woods for 27, I repeat, Twenty-seven years! This book gives a glimpse into Chris Knight's life living completely hidden, how he did it and why. Intriguing. A quick read.

Mississippi Blood by Greg Iles

Image
The conclusion to Iles' trilogy that began with his "Natchez Burning" and continued with his "Bone Tree". How can you really sum up a book that is a tome full of memorable characters, high octane action sequences, dramatic courtroom testimony, brutally dangerous bigots and has racial tension between lovers, siblings, enemies and friends. This book has it all. I highly recommend it!

LibraryReads List April 2017

Image
Announcing the
April 2017
LibraryReads list!
You voted, we counted, and 
April's LibraryReads Favorite is: Anything Is Possible A Novel
by Elizabeth Strout
(Random House)

“Strout does not disappoint with her newest work. Her brilliant collection takes up where her novel, My Name is Lucy Barton, leaves off.The chapters read like short stories with Lucy Barton as the thread that runs between them. The characters populate Amgash, Illinois and their stories are woven together carefully and wonderfully. No one captures the inner workings of small town characters better than Strout. Written to be read and enjoyed many times, I highly recommend for readers of fine literary fiction.” -Mary Vernau, Tyler Public Library, Tyler, TX

Like this list? Download the handouts on our website to start planning displays and driving holds.