Pages

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Fireman by Joe Hill



When a mysterious fungus people call the Dragonscale infects some of the population, fear of the unknown causes many of the infected to spontaneously burst into flames, unknowingly spreading the condition though ash. A small population has figured out how to control the scale to protect themselves from those who would see them exterminated. Will the few survive?

Monday, June 6, 2016

Two-Family House by Lynda Cohen Loigman

Two Jewish brothers and their families live in a brownstone. Abe lives upstairs and has sons, Mort lives downstairs has daughters. They think they have had as many children as they are going to have until both their wives, best friends, Helen and Rose become pregnant. So it happens that Helen and Rose deliver at the same time during a blizzard when the men are gone. It is the start of a secret they keep for thirteen years that changes one of the women so terribly she can no longer stand the other. What pact did they make that night that would forever change their lives?

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

LibraryReads List June 2016

Announcing the 
June 2016

LibraryReads list!

You voted, we counted, and 
June's LibraryReads Favorite is:
 Vinegar Girl
A Novel
by Anne Tyler
(Hogarth)

"The newest entry in the Hogarth Shakespeare series brings The Taming of the Shrew into the modern world. Kate is stuck in a life taking care of her absent minded professor father and her sister, Bunny. When her father suggests a marriage of convenience in order to secure a green card for his lab assistant Pyotr, Kate is shocked. This is a sweet and humorous story about two people, who don't quite fit in, finding each other. Tyler's wonderful writing updates and improves on the original."
--Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA
And now, the rest of the LibraryReads 
June Top 10:


The Invisible Library
by Genevieve Cogman
(Roc)

"Directed by powerful librarians, agents roam alternate realities searching out special volumes for their mysterious library's collections. Irene is a spy for the library but something is a little off about her current mission; there's something strange about her new assistant that she can't quite put her finger on and worse, the requested volume has already been stolen. Cogman's engaging characters and a most intriguing imagined world are sure to delight readers, especially bibliophiles."

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY


Under the Harrow
A Novel
by Flynn Berry
(Penguin Books)

"Nora leaves London to visit her sister, Rachel, in the countryside often.  But this trip is different - a silent house, a dead dog hanging from the railing and so much blood.  Nora stays, trying to help the police solve the case.  She thinks it might have something to do with the unsolved attack on Rachel when she was just a teen but it could be someone new.  This story is thrilling and quietly gripping. We become as obsessed as Nora in finding her sister's killer and what if he strikes again?"

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX



Grunt
The Curious Science of Humans at War
by Mary Roach
(W.W. Norton & Company)
 
“With courageous curiosity, journalistic persistence, and a wry, empathetic sense of humor, Roach once again delves into a fascinating topic few of us would openly explore. She writes about the issues confronting the military in its attempt to protect and enable combat troops. Roach brings to our attention the amazing efforts of science to tackle all the challenges of modern warfare. Grunt is another triumph of sometimes uncomfortable but fascinating revelation.“

Darren Nelson, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, WA 


Homegoing
A Novel
by Yaa Gyasi
(Knopf)

"An engaging family saga following two half-sisters - one who marries into privilege and one sold into slavery - and their descendants as they navigate the politics of their separate countries and their heritage. Each is directly affected in some way by the choices of the past, and finding the parallels in the triumphs and heartbreak makes for an engrossing read."

Amanda Monson, Bartow County Library System, Cartersville, GA 


Missing, Presumed
A Novel

 
by Susie Steiner
(Random House)
 
“This is a thoughtful police procedural about a missing person case and the secrets that come to the surface when a feisty detective becomes relentless in finding the truth. Edith is a successful college student from a well-known family, but all is not what it seems. Detective Manon Bradshaw is feeling the pressure to quickly resolve the case. What sets this apart from other detective stories is how the lead character is brought to life; she exposes her melancholy and it adds a satisfying mix to the thrills. Recommended for fans of Tana French. “ 
 
Andrienne Cruz, Azusa City Library, Azusa, CA 
 


Stiletto
A Novel
by Daniel O'Malley
(Little, Brown and Company)
 
"In the long-awaited sequel to The Rook, negotiations between two highly secret organizations, one based on science and reason and the other on the supernatural, are continuing. Odette and Pawn both come to the forefront of the story as we get more of the history of the groups and why mortal enemies would want to join forces. With its blend of intricate world-building and fantastical situations, Stiletto both surprised me and made me laugh."

Mary Bell, Wilbraham Public Library, Wilbraham, MA
 


We Could Be Beautiful
A Novel
by Swan Huntley
(Doubleday)                               
“Wealthy art collector Catherine spends her time fussing over her tiny boutique card shoppe so that she can feel like a productive member of society. She meets the handsome and refined William Stockton, yet something seems just a little too good to be true. The plot thickens as long hidden family secrets emerge. Huntley certainly knows how to build up the suspense. This debut novel includes some nice plot twists and Catherine’s character evolves favorably. Recommended for fans of psychological fiction.”
Mary Vernau, Tyler Public Library, Tyler, TX


Lily and the Octopus
by Steven Rowley
(Simon & Schuster)
 
"Rowley has lovingly captured what it is like to be totally invested in caring for another life, another heart. This book is a true gift for anyone who has experienced the loss of a dog, but especially for those of us who have nursed a beloved dog through an illness even though you both knew it was going to be a losing battle. A special bond is formed there, and the story of Lily and Ted illustrates it so perfectly."
Mary Coe, Fairfield Woods Branch Library, Fairfield, CT


Widowmaker
A Novel
by Paul Doiron
(Minotaur Books)
"Doiron delivers a novel of intensifying suspense. The brooding and flawed Bowditch deals with a newly revealed family secret that sets him off on a search for the truth.  His personal mission leads him into danger as he chases a vigilante through the wintry Maine woods. Doiron perfects his storytelling with a richly detailed setting and an admirable sense of timing. You'll want to go back to the previous Bowditch adventures while awaiting the next installment.  Highly recommended for fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box."
Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME


Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Pax by Sara Pennypacker

Here is a children's book that will bring back memories of your favorite dog stories like Shiloh or Old Yeller. It is a story about a boy and his fox called Pax. Peter is forced to abandon his pet fox because of impending war and is sent to live with his grandfather while his father joins the war effort. Peter, feeling a great sense of betrayal, sets off on his own to find Pax.

Funny, but while reading this book we discovered we have a neighborhood fox that makes frequent visits through our yard. I'm constantly amazed and delighted with the variety of wildlife that still passes by.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Simply put... Brilliant! Storytelling at its finest.
Doerr manages to take two characters, one a French blind girl and one a German boy genius radio operator, and connect them through a series of other characters and events during World War II all the while making subtle references to the title. I have to ask, was the title decided before, during, or after the writing of the book?

Friday, May 6, 2016

Titans by Leila Meacham




If you have some time on your hands and like family saga's then you will enjoy Meacham's Titans. 
Twins separated at birth, ranchers and oil men, and you guessed it, Texas.
Evokes memories of Edna Ferber's Giant.

Monday, May 2, 2016

Dodgers by Bill Beverly

An excellent crime novel about boys in a South L.A. gang. Two half brothers and two other gang members are sent to Wisconsin to do a job after a Box (a user's house) gets shut down by the police. Is the purpose of the job to take someone out or to protect one of the boys?
This story moves along quickly and you will get used to the lingo after the first chapter.