Pages

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

House of Echoes by Brendan Duffy





So, I was almost late to work because I had to finish this book! Couldn't put it down! It has an old Mansion in the mountains of New England, a young family from New York who buys the old place to turn into an inn, and they have a curious boy who likes to play in the woods. Oh, yes, there is also a sinister watcher in those woods and the small village has an interest in the family genealogy of this young family. Is that enough of a hook for you? I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler



A well written story about a family that is held together not by a thread but by the force of the wives and mothers even though the story seems to be mostly about the men of the family and the house they built. The men of the Whitshank family through the generations think they control their family's life but it is really the women. The color blue also runs through the story and connects the women to the men in both conflict and seduction. An enjoyable read.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

April Library Reads List

               
Announcing the April 2015 LibraryReads list!

You voted, we counted, and April's LibraryReads Favorite is:
At the Water's Edge: A Novel
by Sara Gruen (Spiegel & Grau)
“Set in Loch Ness, right in the middle of WWII, a foolish group of rich Americans arrive in search of the famous monster. Narrator Maddie must make sense of the circumstances that have brought her to this wild locale. Only then can she discover the strength she needs to make her own decisions. Enjoy a delightfully intriguing cast of characters and the engaging style of storytelling that has made Gruen so popular.”
Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI
And now, the rest of the LibraryReads April Top 10:
The Royal We by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan
(Grand Central Publishing)
“This delightful spin on the story of Prince William and Kate Middleton is the perfect beachy, weekend read for anyone who loves love stories with a healthy dose of humor. Here, Will and Kate are replaced by Nick and Bex--he's the heir to the British throne, she's the American who effortlessly steals his heart. Can they weather many obstacles to find their Happily Ever After? Part fairy tale, part cautionary tale, the novel is pure fun from start to finish.”
Donna Matturri, Pickerington Public Library, Pickerington, OH


Still the One
by Jill Shalvis

(Berkley)
“Oh Jill Shalvis, how I love thee! Although all the books in this Animal Magnetism series have strong heroines, this one is the absolute best. And chemistry--wowza, it’s intense. The novel brings a focus on two important social issues: the lack of funding available for those who need physical therapy, and the fact that service dogs who do not pass their certification should not be thrown away. I fell in love and learned something at the same time. Instant classic.”
Amanda Brown, Roanoke Public Libraries,  Roanoke, VA


The Precious One: A Novel
by Marisa de los Santos
(William Morrow)
“Taisy hasn’t seen her father since he dumped her family and started another one 17 years ago. An unexpected invitation to write his biography returns her to her hometown, and gives her a rare chance to knit together a broken web of relationships. Like all de los Santos’ books, The Precious One features smart, funny characters who form an unconventional family. It’s luminous and heartwarming, without an ounce of sap.”
Heather Bistyga, Anderson County Library, Anderson, SC

A Desperate Fortune
by Susanna Kearsley
(Sourcebooks Landmark)
“While transcribing an old manuscript of a young girl’s diary, Sara decodes an account of Jacobite spies. Long before, Mary Dundas gets involved in a mission which makes her confidante to the King of Scotland in exile. And along the way, both women fall for men they know little about. Kearsley is a master at seamlessly blending stories from two time periods. Readers who enjoy a little puzzle solving with their historical fiction will be rewarded.”
Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX






Inside the O'Briens: A Novel
by Lisa Genova
(Gallery Books)
“The O'Briens are an Irish Catholic family living in Boston. Joe, the father, is a cop, and when he is diagnosed with Huntington’s, he must somehow tell his wife and four grown children and learn to live with the disease. I couldn't put the book down for too long. Genova made me feel as if I was part of the family. I loved the way she developed her characters with style and warmth.”
Valerie Giambona, Secaucus Public Library, Secaucus, NJ





The Bone Tree: A Novel
by Greg Iles

(William Morrow)
“Based on a real series of unsolved murders from the civil rights era in Louisiana, and the crusading journalist who uncovered the story, Iles’ novel shines a bright light of truth upon one of America’s darkest secrets. Iles’ compelling writing makes this complex tale of good versus evil a must-read for those who love thrillers, and those who want to learn a little bit of American history not normally taught in school.”
Ellen Jennings, Cook Memorial Public Library, Libertyville, IL

The Dream Lover: A Novel
by Elizabeth Berg
(Random House)
“George Sand leaves her estranged husband and children to embark on a life of art in bohemian Paris. A talented writer who finds monetary and critical success, Sand adopts a man's name, often dresses as a gentleman and smokes cigars. Through her writing, politics, sexual complexities and views on feminism, Sand is always seeking love. This novel has spurred me to learn more about George Sand, a woman truly ahead of her time.”
Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA






House of Echoes: A Novel
by Brendan Duffy
(Ballantine Books)
“Eager to get out of the big city, Ben and Caroline Tierney purchase a large, old house upstate hoping to renovate it into a hotel. However, their house, called The Crofts, has a dark, mysterious past, and terrifying secrets begin to threaten the family. This wonderfully eerie and atmospheric debut novel is a great recommendation for fans of Bohjalian’s The Night Strangers and McMahon’s The Winter People."
Sara Kennedy, Delaware County District Library, Delaware, OH



Where They Found Her: A Novel
by Kimberly McCreight
(Harper)
“Molly Sanderson is covering a feature for the Ridgedale Reader that not only stirs up her recent grief over a stillborn child, but secrets that have been kept hidden for over two decades in this northern New Jersey college town. As the stories of four different women unfold, a new piece of the puzzle is revealed. Chilling and gruesome at times, this is a novel with characters who will stay with the reader long after the final page is turned.”
Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ

Friday, March 13, 2015

The Swimmer by Joakim Zander



This debut novel by Swedish writer Zander is certainly an international espionage page-turner! It begins with a Damascus car bombing that kills a woman with an infant girl, Klara. The bomb was meant for the Klara's father. Years later Klara, now an adult and working as an aid in a government building, finds herself in the middle of  a hunt for information on a computer she possesses that could be the end of the CIA if it is released. Complete with a cold and stormy winter night on an island in the Swedish Archipelago who will come to Klara's rescue?
Very Good!

Monday, March 9, 2015

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

With Harper Lee’s new book “Go Set a Watchman,” coming out in July, the Evening Book Club chose to read “To Kill a Mocking Bird” in April.
It is one of my favorite classics that takes you back in time.  Thankfully a lot of things have changed in regards to racism that happen in 1936.
It is interesting to see a little girls view on segregation fifty years ago.
I loved Harper Lee’s book in high school, and enjoyed rereading “To Kill a Mockingbird” years later.

The Library's Evening Book Club is on the second Thursday of each month at 7pm if you care to join us. -- submitted by Michelle

Friday, March 6, 2015

Thieves of Baghdad: One Marine's Passion for Ancient Civilizations and the Journey to Recover the World's Greatest Stolen Treasures by Matthew Bogdanos



Marine Matthew Bogdanos has a law degree, a degree in classics, and two Master's degrees in classics and strategic studies from the Army War College. It is no wonder then that he was sent to investigate the supposed looting of the Museum complex in Baghdad.  He did much more than investigate, heading a team of experts in finding and restoring valuable treasures.  A lot like the recovery efforts of the Monuments Men. -- submitted by Joan

Monday, March 2, 2015

Believer: My Forty Years in Politics by David Axelrod



This is the autobiography of the powerful political consultant who helped elect Barack Obama. It delves into Axelrod's childhood and early interest in politics, his education and forays into journalism which helped him see campaigning from both perspectives - the journalist and the campaign strategist. Fascinating! -- submitted by Joan