Friday, March 14, 2014

Andalucian Friend by Alexander Soderburg

This Swedish first novel by Soderberg is full of action and intrigue. It involves two warring factions of international crime organizations (one German and one Portuguese) and an innocent nurse who falls for one of the king-pins when he is admitted to the hospital with a broken leg. Throw in an old acquaintance of hers from way back who is has become an arms dealer and gets caught up in the middle of the mafia feud. Even though there were many characters to keep track of I did enjoy this book. It was still entertaining despite the ending which seemed like the author was trying to tie everything up but left loose ends in the process.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

March Library Reads list

   
           Announcing the
           March 2014 

           LibraryReads list!
 
You voted, we counted, and March's LibraryReads Favorite is:
 

The Weight of Blood: A Novel 
by Laura McHugh (Spiegel & Grau)
"The Dane family has been keeping secrets in the Ozark town of Henbane for years. An outsider steals the heart of one of the Dane brothers, and the secrets threaten to unravel. When sixteen-year-old Lucy's friend is found murdered after being missing for a year, Lucy begins to ask questions--the answers to which may destroy her family. Atmospheric and visceral, McHugh's story is vividly and effectively told."  
--Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ

Want to learn more about how to find ARCs, write blurbs, and nominate your favorite books for future LibraryReads list? Join us for a free webinar, "Be Heard with Edelweiss and LibraryReads!" on March 5th at 4pm EST.
Click here to register and join us with your questions and advice for fellow librarians!

And now, the rest of the LibraryReads March Top 10:
The Accident
by Chris Pavone
(Crown) 
"Kudos to Pavone for coming through with another captivating international suspense novel. How ironic that I couldn't put down a book about Isabel, a literary agent who stays up all night to finish an unsolicited manuscript that’s so explosive, some will kill to keep it from being published. During the 24 hours that Isabel is on the run, readers will be on the edge of their seats. Be prepared to lose some sleep!"
--Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI



Panic
by Lauren Oliver
(HarperCollins Publishers) 
"A deadly high-stakes game of Panic takes place in modern-day small town America, and Oliver does a wonderful job making all of it seem real. I loved that the book didn't take place in a post-apocalyptic future like so many titles do nowadays. Oliver is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next!"
--Carol Brumfield, Timberland Regional Library, Tumwater, WA

Precious Thing: A Novel
by Colette McBeth
(Minotaur Books) 
"Clara and Rachel have been friends since high school. Life has intervened and they've grown apart, so when Clara invites Rachel for drinks to catch up, it's a chance to reconnect. But before that can happen, Rachel is called to cover a missing girl story, and the missing girl is Clara. Was she abducted, murdered or did she simply leave on her own?  In the vein of Gone Girl and The Husband's Secret, this is a fast read that is sure to entertain."
--Robin Nesbitt, Columbus Metropolitan Library, Columbus, OH
The Divorce Papers: A Novel
by Susan Rieger
(Crown) 
"When Sophie, a loveable 29-year-old lawyer, gets roped into working on a divorce case, her life takes an unexpected turn. Though this gives her a new perspective on life, it also forces her to confront some unresolved childhood issues. Except for a few tearful, poignant moments, I had a smile on my face for the entire book. Engaging and humorous, this debut epistolary novel has become a favorite read."
--Jennifer Asimakopoulos, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL

A Circle of Wives 
by Alice LaPlante
(Atlantic Monthly Press) 
"When prominent plastic surgeon Dr. John Taylor is found dead, the police investigation uncovers his secret polygamous life. As the narration alternates between Taylor's three wives and a young female detective, the story explores the characters' motivations and relationships. Part psychological thriller and part literary mystery, the end result is wholly captivating reading."
--Melissa DeWild, Kent District Library, Comstock Park, MI

Kill Fee: A Stevens and Windermere Novel
by Owen Laukkanen
(Putnam) 
"In the third book in this series, Carla Windermere and Kirk Stevens find themselves reunited when people around the country seem to be dying from contract hits. Young war veterans, under the influence of a mysterious man, are turning into emotionless killers. Stevens and Windermere try piecing together who's behind the crimes, but keep falling one step behind. Reminiscent of Thomas Perry's novels, and fast-paced."
--Lora Bruggeman, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL
The Outcast Dead
by Elly Griffiths
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
"After the bones of the notorious Mother Hook are possibly uncovered in Norfolk, forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway finds herself on the TV. Was Mother Hook truly guilty of child murder?  This is just one strand in a mystery that revolves around children and the people who care for them. One of the most addictive mystery series being written today."
--Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC



Gemini: A Novel
by Carol Cassella
(Simon & Schuster) 
"After an unidentified hit-and-run victim is received in ICU, Dr. Charlotte Reese struggles to keep her alive, questioning how far medical technology should go to do so. Meanwhile, in an alternate story, teens Bo and Raney explore their budding friendship and attraction. Book groups will devour this compulsively readable novel with thought-provoking themes. Perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian."
--Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library, Salem, OR

Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered
by Austin Kleon
(Workman Publishing) 
"Show Your Work! is a wonderful follow-up to Austin Kleon’s first book, Steal Like an Artist. Utilizing the same fun, graphic novel-ish type of format, Kleon gives practical recommendations about using the Internet and social media to create a community. I particularly appreciate his advice to concentrate on process, not on product, and the rest will follow. A must-read for anyone involved in the creative process."
--Rebekka Hanson, Madison Library District, Rexburg, ID

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Winter People by Jennifer McMahon

Ooh! Here is a good horror story for those of you who like ghosts, murder and haunting. Meet Ruthie(16) and younger sister Fawn. Their mother, Alice, disappears one night and in their search for her they find hidden a gun, two wallets of people they don't know and an old diary from Sara a woman who live in their farmhouse in 1908. The farmhouse they live in is next to a rock formation called Devil's Hand. Local legends say it is a dangerous and haunted place, a place where people go missing ever since Sara went crazy after the accidental loss of her only child Gertie. Or was it an accident?

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Mercy Snow by Tiffany Baker

What a great story! It has everything and an ending you will not soon forget. It all starts in a New Hampshire paper mill town. A terrible bus accident happens killing one and critically injuring the driver. One red mitten is a clue to who is responsible. Characters involved are the paper mill owner (Cal), his wife (June) and son (Nate), a poor indigent family of one brother and two sisters, (Zeke, Mercy Snow and Hannah) and Hazel a sheep farmer, wife of the driver, and provider of dyed wool yarn for the ladies of the town.
Thanks for the great read Tiffany!





If you liked Mercy Snow then you will like Tiffany Baker's "Little Giant of Aberdeen County".

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Gods of Guilt by Michael Connelly




All I can say is Michael Connelly has done it again!  This is another Mickey Haller novel and this is just as good if not better than his "Lincoln Lawyer".  Can't wait for the next one! -- submitted by Marianne.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

What I've been reading

Nothing like this cold snap to make you want to curl up with a good book!

I finished Margaret Atwood's trilogy ending with "Maddaddam" and I have to say I really enjoyed it. It was unique and imaginative look at an end of society as we know it. Shall I say drug companies and cloning gone too far.








Can't say the same for Dean Koontz's "Innocence". Very readable but I just didn't get parts of it. It leads you to believe it is a beauty and the beast sort of story but it's not. And I didn't get the point of these weird inferences to the creepy marionettes he used to try to link and tie the story together. Sorry, I just didn't get it.







I did get to read the first in the Veronica Roth trilogy, "Divergent" It was very good and I am looking forward to the film that comes out in March. Have placed my holds and anxiously await my turn for her "Insurgent" and "Alligiant".








I rounded out my reading list for December with "Wish you Well" by David Baldacci. A very touching story and quick read about love, loss, and growing up. Not Baldacci's usual fare but a nice short divergence on a lazy day.