LibraryReads List March 2018

Announcing the 
March 2018

LibraryReads list!

You voted, we counted, and 
March's LibraryReads Favorite is:
Let Me Lie
by Clare Mackintosh
(Berkley)
"For readers who enjoyed Mackintosh’s I Let You Go and I See You, you most certainly will enjoy her latest suspenseful thrill ride. Anna has been struggling to get on with her life after her parents' suicides when she starts to receive clues that maybe her parents did not carry out the heinous act that everyone believed they committed."
KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT
And now, the rest of the LibraryReads 
March Top 10:


The Broken Girls
by Simone St. James
(Berkley)

"Parallel narratives, one set in Vermont 1950 and the other in Vermont 2014, are woven together in this intricate mystery. Timely themes of violence toward women and abuses of power resonate throughout. A well-crafted and unsettling tale for fans of Gothic horror and female centered thrillers."

Kate Currie, Hennepin County Library, Minneapolis, MN 


The Flight Attendant
by Chris Bohjalian
(Doubleday)

"Cassie Bowden is a flight attendant with a drinking problem. Rock bottom comes when she wakes up in a hotel room in Dubai with a dead man next to her. Warning: do not read this on a plane!"

Marika Zemke, Commerce Township Public Library, Commerce Township, MI 


Sometimes I Lie
A Novel

by Alice Feeney
(Flatiron Books)

"For fans of the recent psychological thrillers, The Woman In the Window and The Wife Between Us, comes another one that will keep you on your toes. I felt like I needed a whiteboard to keep track of the twists and turns." 

 Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library, Salem, OR


Burn Bright
by Patricia Briggs
(Ace)

"The latest installment in the Alpha and Omega series. The tension between humans and werewolves is ramping up and Charles and Anna are becoming more deeply involved in Pack business. For readers who enjoy Ilona Andrews and Kelly Armstrong."

Shana Harrington, Las Vegas Clark County Library District, Las Vegas, NV 


Sunburn
A Novel

by Laura Lippman
(William Morrow)

“Polly leaves her husband and child while on a beach vacation and winds up in a small town in Delaware with almost nothing. She gets a job at the local bar and starts a relationship with Adam, someone who seems to have landed in the town by accident as well. As the novel progresses, we learn of Polly's past and soon you won't know what to believe. Sunburn is a twisted novel that will suck you in.”

Annice Sevett, New Hanover County Public Library, Wilmington, NC 


Every Note Played
by Lisa Genova
(Gallery/Scout Press)

"Richard is a successful concert pianist who has contracted ALS and now his right arm is paralyzed. His wife Katrina takes on the role of reluctant caretaker. Theirs is a marriage filled with secrets, blame, loneliness, and disappointment. The book is beautifully written and visceral in its description of the progression of ALS. Most moving to this reader was both characters’ impassioned relationship to music."

Maggie Holmes, Richards Memorial Library, North Attleborough, MA 


Girls Burn Brighter
A Novel

by Shobha Rao
(Flatiron Books)        
                      

"A beautiful tale of survival despite overwhelming destructive forces all around. After her mother’s death, Poornima is left to care for her siblings and father until her arranged marriage. When a free spirited Savitha enters, Poornima begins to imagine a different life. Told in alternating perspectives, the girls' ambition keeps them going through unimaginable trials." 

Darla Dykstra, Mid-Continent Public Library,
Independence, MO 


Alternate Side
A Novel

by Anna Quindlen
(Random House)

“This book really captures contemporary New York, the increasing disparity between the wealthy Manhattanites and those who work for them and live in the outer boroughs, and the obsessive search for parking. The title hits exactly the right tone as “alternate side” has several meanings in this novel."
 

Rosemarie Borsody, Lee Library Association, Lee, MA


Tangerine
by Christine Mangan
(Ecco)

“This novel brings to mind Hitchcock. This is the story of two women, friends in college, until an accident drives a wedge between them. Years later, Alice is living in Tangier with her husband when Lucy shows up. A twisted tale told in alternating points of view." 

Terri Smith, Cornelia Habersham County Library,    Cornelia, GA





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Witcher: the Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

LibraryReads List July 2019