LibraryReads List November 2018


Announcing the 
November 2018

LibraryReads list!

You voted, we counted, and 
November's LibraryReads Favorite is:
My Sister, the Serial Killer
A Novel
by Oyinkan Braithwaite

(Doubleday)
“Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer). Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else's deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family. For fans of satirical humor.”
Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield NJ 
And now, the rest of the LibraryReads 
November Top 10:

(Don’t miss the November 2018 Hall of Fame Winners! Scroll down or visit the Hall of Fame page!)


The Adults
A Novel
by Caroline Hulse
(Random House)

“Divorced couple Claire and Matt devise a terrific idea for Christmas: spend it at Happy Forest Holiday Park with their new partners and their seven-year-old daughter Scarlett (and her imaginary friend). Hilarious and heartrending, this debut novel asks the age-old question: "What could possibly go wrong?"

Todd Krueger, Baltimore County Public Library,
Baltimore, MD


The Best Bad Things
A Novel
by Katrina Carrasco
(MCD/Farrar, Straus & Giroux)        
                      

“Alma is a cross-dressing, bisexual, half-Mexican, badass woman who goes undercover in this historical fiction story set in 1887 Washington state. She lives life on the edge with gusto and nerve. An enjoyable ride for readers who like a fast-paced story and don’t mind graphic content.”

Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga County Public Library,
Cuyahoga, OH


The Colors of All the Cattle
No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency
by Alexander McCall Smith
(Pantheon)

“Each new book in this series unwraps another layer of the lives of the minor characters. Along with solving the requisite mystery, Precious delves into local politics and comes to rely more on her family and friends for their input. A charming addition to this heartwarming series.”

Fran Hegarty, Peabody Institute Library of Danvers, Danvers, MA


Empire of Sand
by Tasha Suri
(Orbit)

“A modern take on the classic Disney tale of Mulan, this fantasy-adventure story features Mehr, a governor’s daughter who wants to make a name for herself and is passionate about saving the lives of those in her kingdom. Mehr’s unique magical powers make her a target and give the classic storyline a new twist.”

Megan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library,
Lackawanna, NY


How Long ‘Til Black Future Month?
Stories
by N. K. Jemisin
(Orbit)

"This first short story collection from the most celebrated speculative fiction author of our time features her signature blend of sharply observed, provocative tales of magic steeped in realism and social commentary. Both SFF fans and adventurous readers of genre-blending literary fiction such as Station Eleven and The Underground Railroad will find much to admire."

Annabelle Mortensen, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, IL


The Kinship of Secrets
by Eugenia Kim
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

"A sweeping, historical, family saga in which two sisters are separated during the Korean War. One is raised in the United States and the other in South Korea. For fans of Pachinko."
  

Cat Ng, Palm Beach County Library System, Wellington, FL


A Ladder to the Sky
A Novel
by John Boyne
(Hogarth)

"Enter the disturbing world of high stakes publishing and meet an author so twisted and unscrupulous you will beg for justice. For readers who like an unlikeable character and sardonic tone." 

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library,
Austin, TX


Newcomer
A Mystery
by Keigo Higashino
(Minotaur Books)

"Newly transferred Tokyo Police Detective Kaga is assigned a baffling murder. The story is told almost entirely through the perspective of people he interviews, gradually revealing the puzzling who, how, and why in this mystery. For fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie and Columbo as well as lovers of international crime novels." 

Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA


Someone to Trust
A Westcott Novel
by Mary Balogh
(Berkley/Jove)

"Love defies societal expectations in this historical romance set in the Regency period. For fans of Tessa Dare and Amelia Grey."

Kathy Setter, Indianhead Federated Library System,      Eau Claire, WI


Kingdom of the Blind  
A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel              by Louise Penny
(Minotaur Books)

"Gamache tries to understand why someone connected to a mysterious will is killed, while he and Beauvoir race against time to stop a deadly shipment of drugs from hitting the streets. Penny digs deep into her familiar characters in what may be her most personal book." 

David Singleton, Charlotte Mecklenberg Public Library, Charlotte, NC


Night of Miracles   
A Novel                            by Elizabeth Berg
(Random House)

"An equally delightful follow-up to The Story of Arthur Truluv. A heartwarming tale of life in a small town with an ensemble cast of likeable characters."

 
Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT


Nine Perfect Strangers   
by Liane Moriarty
(Flatiron Books)

"Can ten days at a special health resort change you forever? Can you lose weight, gain inner peace, become a better you? Nine people are thrown together at a remote health resort with intriguing developments." 

Jennifer Ohzourk, St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, MO 


Past Tense  
A Jack Reacher Novel  by Lee Child
(Delacorte Press)

"Another home run from Child. While visiting his father’s birthplace in New Hampshire, Reacher can’t help but intervene when a member of a local gang attempts to assault a waitress.  He soon uncovers more suspicious happenings in the town. Fast-paced, great plot, and compelling characters."

Laura Scott, Park Ridge Public Library, Park Ridge, IL



Comments

Popular posts from this blog