Posts

Showing posts from 2019

"The Janes" by Louisa Luna and "American Dirt" by Jeanine Cummins

Image
Coming in January 2020 these two novels have similar themes of people trying to escape the violence of the Mexican cartels.


In "American Dirt", a bookstore owner in Acapulco unwittingly befriends the boss of a far reaching drug cartel. Her husband is a reporter who publishes an article about the cartel which is basically the end of him and his family except for his wife and son who flee. This is the story of how they make the dangerous journey along with other migrants to the United States. Very good!










In "The Janes" , a private investigator ,Alice Vega, is called upon when the bodies of two young girls are discovered in a ditch south of San Diego. One of the girls is found to have the Vega's name on a scrap of paper balled up in her fist. Rival cartels, human trafficking and crooked cops all play a role.
A quick good mystery and the second novel featuring character Alice Vega.

Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson

Image
Lillian, who is living in her mother's attic, is asked by her best friend, Madison, to take care of her step children for the summer. Madison is politically motivated and her Senator husband is an up and comer. Madison neglects to mention that these stepchildren, who have recently lost their mother, are special in that they tend to catch on fire once in awhile. A very humorous novel about finding love and where you belong in unexpected places. A quick, light read.

36 Righteous Men by Steven Pressfield

Image
Are you in need of a new mystery to distract you from these chilly November days? Try Pressfield's "36 Righteous Men" it is not your usual mystery of finding the bad guy. No, this one means hunting down evil itself from New York all the way to the fiery bowels of the Israeli desert. Entertaining and a quick read!

Glass Woman by Caroline Lea

Image
A novel set in Iceland in the 1600's. A young unmarried woman is taken as a bride of a wealthy powerful farmer in a village far away from her family. Rosa discovers he harbors secrets that affect her relationship with him and the village. Why is she banned from speaking with the villagers and what really happened to his first wife?

LibraryReads List October 2019

Image
Announcing the October 2019 LibraryReads list!
You voted, we counted, and October's LibraryReads Favorite is:
The Body A Guide for Occupants
by Bill Bryson
(Doubleday Books)
“A fascinating look at the human body and how it functions. Each historical tidbit is well-researched and thoroughly cited. Interesting stories, such as how diseases, cells, nerves, and organs were discovered, are woven throughout. For readers who like narrative nonfiction such as Gulp by Mary Roach, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, and Guts by Giulia Enders.”
Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
NoveList read-alike: Dispatches from the Front (and Back) by Mara Altman
And now, the rest of the LibraryReads October Top 10:

After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

Image
In Montag's imagining of the world after a great flood, there are only a few remaining places on earth that aren't oceans. Mountaintops visible above the water line are all that remain. In this new world are groups of raiders each trying to take control and colonize in strong-arm violent ways. For Myra and her daughter Pearl living on a family boat and fishing as a small means of support, it means not trusting anyone.
This could be the new dystopian novel of the year! I enjoyed it very much.

See That My Grave is Kept Clean by Bart Paul

Image
The character Tommy Smith, building a house in the Sierra's and starting a business as an outfitter for folks who want to venture into the wilderness, finds himself in the middle of a missing local banker's plan to save her family ranch gone very bad!
A quick western for those who like C.J. Box's Pickett novels.

What Rose Forgot by Nevada Barr

Image
68 year old Rose finds herself drugged, labeled as having Alzheimer's, and in a nursing home. She escapes, and with the help of her 14 yr. old granddaughter tries to find out who is trying to get rid of her to get her recently deceased husband's money. A madcap mystery. Quite fun!

This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger

Image
Look for this one coming out in September. A novel about orphans at a school for Native Americans and orphans in Minnesota under a crooked director and his wife who the kids call the black witch. Four children plan an escape that takes them in a canoe headed for St. Louis where an aunt lives. This is their story and the situations/adventures they find themselves in along the way. Very good, but I'm a sucker for any orphan story.

Warehouse by Rob Hart

Image
What happens when a Mega online shopping site manages to be the only employer left after putting everyone else out of business. Tracking their every move, the Cloud controls the thousands of people who work for it. Meet Paxton who just wants a job, Zinnia who has ulterior motives getting a job at the Cloud, and Gibson the owner of the Cloud who has terminal cancer but wants to save the world.
Reminiscent of "Fahrenheit 451" and "The Handmaid's Tale" this novel will make you ask yourself questions about our life today and where it could lead us tomorrow. I enjoyed it!

Witcher: the Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

Image
Yes, we have the Witcher books! The basis for the next major Netflix series, this original story by Polish author Sapkowski could be as popular as the Game of Thrones. 
The story-line is a fantasy, with the Witcher of Rivia as the main character who's job it is to slay monsters of all kinds on his own or with the help of wizards, sorceresses, elves, and occasionally humans.  Subtlety and ingeniously inserted are references to the fairy tales we all grew up with.
After reading the first book I'm hooked and a fan. I hope that Netflix is up to the challenge of bringing this fantasy to life.

Freefall by Jessica Barry

Image
Allison is the only survivor of a small plane crash in the Colorado Rockies. Knowing she is being hunted while using techniques she learned from her father, she tries to make her way back to her mother. Meanwhile, her mother in Maine refuses to believe that Allison perished in the crash and uses her researching skills as a retired librarian to dig into her daughters recent past. A good quick read.

Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna by Juliet Grames

Image
This is an Italian immigrant story. Told in a voice that could be an old aunt recounting stories of Stella's life. Often times humorous but more a story of a girl, a young woman who just wants to be herself and not what the traditional Italian family expects her to be.  Very good.

Need by Helen Phillips

Image
Anyone who is a mother can relate to this tense story of a mother's struggle to be everything to her two young children while battling insomnia. The tricks that sleep deprivation plays on her mind keep you guessing if she will do something horrific. A good quick read.

Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead

Image
In his new novel Whitehead, inspired by a true story of a reform school in Florida, creates this novel of cruelty and hatred in the south. Centered around a young academic African boy, Elwood, who has his sights on going to college. When hitchhiking, he finds himself in the wrong car at the wrong time and is sent to a reform school where the lucky ones make it out alive. Determined to out the school and the crooks who run it, Elwood hatches a plan that may work or may get him killed.
Very good!

Stars of Alabama by Sean Dietrich

Image
A Southern novel where three different stories of unfortunate souls, rich in goodness and as warm as the South can be, come together in Mobile. A story of hard life in the 30's and 40's, where people find strength, in attending traveling tent revivals. It is a story of families and loved ones lost and of new friendships and families found. Very Good!

LibraryReads List July 2019

Image
July 2019 LibraryReads The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman Published: 7/9/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451491879 “Nina likes her bookish life just fine. She works in a bookstore and is on a highly competitive trivia team. She is funny and snarky and great company (says this reader). Suddenly, a father she never knew dies and leaves her with a pack of brothers and sisters and Nina may be forced out of her comfortable reading chair. For readers who enjoyed Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey and The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald.” Eileen Curley, Hagaman Public Library, East Haven, CT
NoveList Read-alike: The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins Published: 7/30/2019 by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982135669 “Sarah is the librarian in a small Southern town called Dove Pond. Her magic is matching the right book to the right reader at the right time in their life. Grace is a city girl, new in town and in need of a little magic herself. For read…