Posts

Showing posts from 2019

Warehouse by Rob Hart

Image
What happens when a Mega online shopping site manages to be the only employer left after putting everyone else out of business. Tracking their every move, the Cloud controls the thousands of people who work for it. Meet Paxton who just wants a job, Zinnia who has ulterior motives getting a job at the Cloud, and Gibson the owner of the Cloud who has terminal cancer but wants to save the world.
Reminiscent of "Fahrenheit 451" and "The Handmaid's Tale" this novel will make you ask yourself questions about our life today and where it could lead us tomorrow. I enjoyed it!

Witcher: the Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

Image
Yes, we have the Witcher books! The basis for the next major Netflix series, this original story by Polish author Sapkowski could be as popular as the Game of Thrones. 
The story-line is a fantasy, with the Witcher of Rivia as the main character who's job it is to slay monsters of all kinds on his own or with the help of wizards, sorceresses, elves, and occasionally humans.  Subtlety and ingeniously inserted are references to the fairy tales we all grew up with.
After reading the first book I'm hooked and a fan. I hope that Netflix is up to the challenge of bringing this fantasy to life.

Freefall by Jessica Barry

Image
Allison is the only survivor of a small plane crash in the Colorado Rockies. Knowing she is being hunted while using techniques she learned from her father, she tries to make her way back to her mother. Meanwhile, her mother in Maine refuses to believe that Allison perished in the crash and uses her researching skills as a retired librarian to dig into her daughters recent past. A good quick read.

Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna by Juliet Grames

Image
This is an Italian immigrant story. Told in a voice that could be an old aunt recounting stories of Stella's life. Often times humorous but more a story of a girl, a young woman who just wants to be herself and not what the traditional Italian family expects her to be.  Very good.

Need by Helen Phillips

Image
Anyone who is a mother can relate to this tense story of a mother's struggle to be everything to her two young children while battling insomnia. The tricks that sleep deprivation plays on her mind keep you guessing if she will do something horrific. A good quick read.

Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead

Image
In his new novel Whitehead, inspired by a true story of a reform school in Florida, creates this novel of cruelty and hatred in the south. Centered around a young academic African boy, Elwood, who has his sights on going to college. When hitchhiking, he finds himself in the wrong car at the wrong time and is sent to a reform school where the lucky ones make it out alive. Determined to out the school and the crooks who run it, Elwood hatches a plan that may work or may get him killed.
Very good!

Stars of Alabama by Sean Dietrich

Image
A Southern novel where three different stories of unfortunate souls, rich in goodness and as warm as the South can be, come together in Mobile. A story of hard life in the 30's and 40's, where people find strength, in attending traveling tent revivals. It is a story of families and loved ones lost and of new friendships and families found. Very Good!

LibraryReads List July 2019

Image
July 2019 LibraryReads The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman Published: 7/9/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451491879 “Nina likes her bookish life just fine. She works in a bookstore and is on a highly competitive trivia team. She is funny and snarky and great company (says this reader). Suddenly, a father she never knew dies and leaves her with a pack of brothers and sisters and Nina may be forced out of her comfortable reading chair. For readers who enjoyed Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey and The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald.” Eileen Curley, Hagaman Public Library, East Haven, CT
NoveList Read-alike: The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins Published: 7/30/2019 by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982135669 “Sarah is the librarian in a small Southern town called Dove Pond. Her magic is matching the right book to the right reader at the right time in their life. Grace is a city girl, new in town and in need of a little magic herself. For read…

Flowers Over the Inferno by Ilaria Tuti

Image
This mystery is translated from the Italian. It is set in the Italian Alps amid a close knit village who keep secrets. Hard nosed detective Battaglia is called to investigate when a body turns up in the forest minus his eyeballs. More people are assaulted and die from body parts that are taken, but what is the connection between these victims? Who or what in the forest is doing this and is there a connection to a school that was an orphanage where supposed experiments have taken place on small children decades ago? A very interesting and different mystery in a special setting.

Bobcat by Katherine Forbes Riley

Image
A nice quiet, quick, and gentle read. Enjoy!

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

Image
Here is a fun novel set in the east. Sisters who are very different, one has magic talents, her name is (oh yes it is) Tabitha, and Ivy who is a private detective. Ivy is asked to solve a murder that takes place at the Academy for Mages where Tabitha works as a teacher. All sorts of magic happens and even a budding romance in the ensuing investigation where a number of people are under suspicion. Just enjoy -- I did.

Library Reads List June 2019

Image
June 2019 LibraryReads Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel by Linda Holmes Published: 6/25/2019 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780525619246 “Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.” Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ 
NoveList Read-alike: The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin Published: 6/4/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984802798 “Ayesha puts aside dreams of poetry and works in Toronto as a teacher to repay debts to her family. A deep-rooted family trauma ties Khalid to his controlling mother and gives him a rigid understanding of the world. Can these two young Muslims forge a healing path? A sweet modern romance perfect for readers of The Wedding Date

Call Your Daughter Home by Deb Spera

Image
A historical fiction novel centering on three strong women, their lives, and relationships during the 1920s in South Carolina. A real page turner with great character development and story line. I loved this book! One of my favorites this year. For those who enjoyed "Secret life of Bees", "Kitchen House", and "Mudbound".

Farm by Joanne Ramos

Image
Imagine an exclusive place that caters to the rich who cannot have their own children. Here at Golden Oaks, surrogates live under constant watch and scrutiny to deliver healthy babies to clients at a premium cost! What could go wrong? Oh, my!

Biloxi by Mary Miller

Image
A
novel about an ordinary man, recently divorced and recently retired, learning to live alone. When Louis accepts a dog from a man who says his wife is allergic he is basically saved from being lonely. He then finds himself in a bit of trouble when the wife wants the dog back and discovers that Louis may have an inheritance coming to him.
This is a nice read and a reflection of a man on his own after having been cared for by women all his life.

There There by Tommy Orange

Image
This book got such a lot of attention last year and had been on my list for awhile. For me this was a very depressing and sad novel about the plight of Native Americans living in Oakland. The only positive thing I could take away was a family that had been torn apart by poverty and alcohol got reconnected, albeit through a tragedy, that happened at a Pow-Wow. If the author wanted to show the reader that Native Americans fare no better in the cities than on reservations, then he was successful. If the author wanted to depict that Native Americans need to stay connected to their past and rely on each other to remember and pass on stories of the past, he was successful. Otherwise it was just a really sad sad story.

Stalker by Lars Kepler

Image
A pulse pounding, heart stopping, Swedish thriller. Very good!

Extraordinary life of Sam Hell by Robert Dugoni

Image
What a great story! Born with red eyes, Sam Hill was bullied in school and soon became known as Sam Hell. His mother, a devout Catholic, told him he was destined to have an extraordinary life. Much loved by his parents and two best friends, he did grow up to be a good person despite all the bullying. The lesson, if there is one after enjoying all of Sam's ups and downs, is never give up. I recommend this book!

LibraryReads List March 2019

Image
Announcing the
March 2019

LibraryReads list!
You voted, we counted, and 
March's LibraryReads Favorite is: My Lovely Wife
by Samantha Downing
(Berkley)