LibraryReads List Feb. 2019


Announcing the 
February 2019

LibraryReads list!

You voted, we counted, and 
February's LibraryReads Favorite is:
The Silent Patient
by Alex Michaelides
(Celadon Books)
“Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there's more to Alicia's story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”
Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland,OR
And now, the rest of the LibraryReads 
February Top 10:


(Don’t miss the February 2019 Hall of Fame Winners! Scroll down or visit the Hall of Fame page!)


The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls
by Anissa Gray
(Berkley)

“A beautifully written novel told from the viewpoints of three sisters whose dysfunctional childhood has left deep wounds. Family also serves as a source of strength as the women face the damage done and try to heal. For readers who enjoy Tayari Jones and Jessmyn Ward.”

Janine Walsh, East Meadow Public Library,
East Meadow, NY


Daughter of Moloka'i
by Alan Brennert
(St. Martin's Press)        
                      

“Fans of Moloka'i and new readers will adore this interesting, heartfelt sequel. Taken from her parents as an infant, Ruth is adopted by a loving family who experiences more than their fair share of upheaval and heartache balanced with love and joy. Readers of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko may enjoy.”

Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY


Finding Dorothy
A Novel
by Elizabeth Letts
(Ballantine Books)

“In examining the meeting between Judy Garland and Maud Baum, Letts weaves two narratives: Hollywood in 1938-39, and Baum's childhood and marriage to L. Frank Baum, author of the book that inspired the movie. A fascinating behind-the-scenes story for Oz fans.”

Lauren McLaughlin, Wilton Library Association, Wilton, CT


The Girls at 17 Swann Street
A Novel
by Yara Zgheib
(St. Martin's Press)

“A mesmerizing glimpse inside a rehab program for victims of anorexia. This fictional account of one young woman's life-saving journey is eye opening with its descriptions and statistics. For readers who enjoy fiction about social and psychological issues, and books by Wally Lamb and Chris Bohjalian.”

Marilyn Sieb, L.D. Fargo Library, Lake Mills, WI 


Good Riddance
by Elinor Lipman
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

“An annotated yearbook is an interesting plot device, and Lipman populates it with likable characters that you can't help but root for and with "villains" so ridiculous that you can't help but laugh at them. Perfectly paced, engagingly written, and fun. For fans of Adriana Trigiani.”

Lorri Steinbacher, Ridgewood Public Library,
Ridgewood, NJ 


The Huntress
A Novel
by Kate Quinn
(William Morrow Paperbacks)

"This is a novel I can happily recommend to patrons who like historical fiction. It excels in both plotting and character development. Nina Markova, a bomber pilot stranded behind enemy lines, becomes the target of a Nazi assassin. For fans of Jackdaws by Ken Follett and Up In Honey’s Room by Elmore Leonard." 

Maria Gruener, Watertown Regional Library,
Watertown, SD


Kid Gloves
Nine Months of Careful Chaos
by Lucy Knisley
(First Second)

“This wonderful graphic novel is also the most honest, comprehensive, revealing, and helpful book on pregnancy, miscarriages, birth, breastfeeding, and everything in between that has ever been written. I wish I had had this book as I was leveled with morning sickness for nine months.”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA


The Last Romantics
A Novel
by Tara Conklin
(William Morrow)

“A fresh look at family dynamics, this is the story of four siblings and their love for one another spanning their entire lives. For fans of The Nest by Cynthia D’aprix Sweeny and The Past by Tessa Hadley.

Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT


The Priory of the Orange Tree
by Samantha Shannon
(Bloomsbury Publishing)

"Brilliant world building; multi-dimensional characters; magic; friendship; plots; secrets; romance; and battles between good and evil.... this book has it all. The best new fantasy I’ve read in years. I eagerly await the next installment. For fans of Naomi Novik." 

Alexa Newman, Algonquin Area Public Library,
Algonquin, IL


The Lost Man 
by Jane Harper
(Flatiron Books)

"When rancher Cameron Bright is found dead in the unforgiving Australian Outback, his older brother Nathan, a social pariah, is left to uncover family secrets and ferret out the mystery of Cameron's demise. Harper’s tense standalone will captivate her fans and leave them eager for more."

Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

Readalikes:

Bearskin by James McLaughlin
Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke
The Hired Man by Aminatta Forna
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
The Dark Lake by Sarah Bailey

 


I Owe You One
A Novel
by Sophie Kinsella
(The Dial Press)

"Kinsella is back with a sweet, thoughtful book about family loyalty and breaking out on your own. Fixie Farr is trying to keep her family’s store afloat while her siblings plot expensive plans to modernize. Meanwhile, Fixie is juggling two interested suitors. For readers who love the work of Meg Cabot and Marian Keyes."

Kathryn Neal, Skiatook Library, Skiatook, OK

Readalikes:

Anybody Out There by Marian Keyes
A Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff
The Perfect Find by Tia Williams
Life’s a Beach by Clare Cook
A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde

 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog