Posts

Showing posts from June, 2019

LibraryReads List July 2019

Image
July 2019 LibraryReads The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman Published: 7/9/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451491879 “Nina likes her bookish life just fine. She works in a bookstore and is on a highly competitive trivia team. She is funny and snarky and great company (says this reader). Suddenly, a father she never knew dies and leaves her with a pack of brothers and sisters and Nina may be forced out of her comfortable reading chair. For readers who enjoyed Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey and The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald.” Eileen Curley, Hagaman Public Library, East Haven, CT
NoveList Read-alike: The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins Published: 7/30/2019 by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982135669 “Sarah is the librarian in a small Southern town called Dove Pond. Her magic is matching the right book to the right reader at the right time in their life. Grace is a city girl, new in town and in need of a little magic herself. For read…

Flowers Over the Inferno by Ilaria Tuti

Image
This mystery is translated from the Italian. It is set in the Italian Alps amid a close knit village who keep secrets. Hard nosed detective Battaglia is called to investigate when a body turns up in the forest minus his eyeballs. More people are assaulted and die from body parts that are taken, but what is the connection between these victims? Who or what in the forest is doing this and is there a connection to a school that was an orphanage where supposed experiments have taken place on small children decades ago? A very interesting and different mystery in a special setting.

Bobcat by Katherine Forbes Riley

Image
A nice quiet, quick, and gentle read. Enjoy!

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

Image
Here is a fun novel set in the east. Sisters who are very different, one has magic talents, her name is (oh yes it is) Tabitha, and Ivy who is a private detective. Ivy is asked to solve a murder that takes place at the Academy for Mages where Tabitha works as a teacher. All sorts of magic happens and even a budding romance in the ensuing investigation where a number of people are under suspicion. Just enjoy -- I did.