LibraryReads List October 2019


Announcing the October 2019 LibraryReads list!

You voted, we counted, and October's LibraryReads Favorite is:

The Body
A Guide for Occupants
by Bill Bryson
(Doubleday Books)

“A fascinating look at the human body and how it functions. Each historical tidbit is well-researched and thoroughly cited. Interesting stories, such as how diseases, cells, nerves, and organs were discovered, are woven throughout. For readers who like narrative nonfiction such as Gulp by Mary Roach, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, and Guts by Giulia Enders.”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
NoveList read-alike: Dispatches from the Front (and Back) by Mara Altman

And now, the rest of the LibraryReads October Top 10:

Don’t miss the October 2019 Hall of Fame Winners! Scroll down or visit the Hall of Fame page!







The Art of Theft
by Sherry Thomas
(Berkley)
The Butterfly Girl
A Novel
by Rene Denfeld
(Harper)
Cilka's Journey
A Novel
by Heather Morris
(St. Martin's Press)







Imaginary Friend
by Stephen Chbosky
(Grand Central Publishing)
The Library of the Unwritten
by A.J. Hackwith
(Ace)
Ninth House
by Leigh Bardugo
(Flatiron Books)







Nothing to See Here
by Kevin Wilson
(Ecco)
Ordinary Girls
A Memoir
by Jaquira Diaz
(Algonquin Books)
Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts
by Kate Racculia
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Download printable versions and get NoveList read-alikes on our website


October 2019 Hall of Fame Authors

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly LibraryReads list since 2013. When their third title places on the list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.


Full Throttle
by Joe HIll
(William Morrow)

Read-alikes:
Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman
Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
Ghost Summer by Tananarive Due



The Giver of Stars
A Novel
by Jojo Moyes
(Pamela Dorman Books)

Read-alikes:
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson
The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiSclafani
Over the Plain Houses by Julia Franks

Olive, Again
A Novel
by Elizabeth Strout
(Random House)

Read-alikes:
Lila by Marilynne Robinson
Kitchens of the Great Midwest
by J. Ryan Stradal
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
by Rachel Joyce


Royal Holiday
by Jasmine Guillory
(Berkley)

Read-alikes:
A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole
Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev
My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan

Twice in a Blue Moon
by Christina Lauren
(Gallery Books)

Read-alikes:
Not Quite Over You by Suan Mallery
Perfect Timing by Brenda Jackson
Waiting on You by Kristan Higgins

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Witcher: the Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

LibraryReads List July 2019